History of TransPORT

An engine for the fast moving marketplace is born.

Rail yardThe Heart of Illinois Regional Port District (TransPORT) is a unit of local government created by an act of the Illinois Legislature, and signed into law on July 22, 2003 by Illinois Governor Rod Blagojevich. The bill, Public Act 93-0262, created a six-county Port District in Central Illinois. The Port District encompasses over 95 miles of the Illinois River and includes Fulton, Marshall, Mason, Peoria, Tazewell, and Woodford Counties. In 2005, the Port District launched the TransPORT brand to distinguish and identify the Heart of Illinois Regional Port District initiative.

TransPORT was conceived as a specialized economic development unit for transportation and logistics, which comprises one of the largest employment sectors in the area.  Its mission specifies that the Port District will facilitate regional growth through commercial development of transportation facilities, deployment of financing tools, and engagement of public-private partnerships to expand the economy, attract incremental investment, and create family wage jobs.

TransPORT continues to work with its counties and numerous municipalities to identify development candidates along the river and beyond.  Given the vast range of logistics related activities in the region, the Port looks for opportunities in the railway, motor carrier and warehousing sectors, wherin the participation of a public port authority can be advantageous, and produce economic benefits.